Early Career Program

Join Early Career Scientist group on Facebook, Early Career Scientist Group.

Throughout the week of the conference there will be numerous early career events for ALL early career scientists to participate in. All events are free!

**Early Career scientist is a current student or a scientist within 3 working years of completing their PhD, excluding career breaks.

2016 IGAC Early Career Program

Tuesday 27th September

  • 09:00 – 11:00 Poster Judging – early career competition judging for sessions 1,3 and 6.
  • 12:40 – 14:05 Lunch with established scientists
    Location: Summer Event Tent
    Opportunity to take part in a networking lunch with established scientists. A buffet style lunch will be provided. Established scientists will be seated at several tables, giving you the opportunity to ask any questions regarding science, career, publication etc.
  • 19:00-21:00 Early Career Mixer
    The Quandary Grille, 505 S Main St C1, Breckenridge, CO 80424
    Appetizers and drinks at local bar/grill. Places are limited to the first 150 people.
    Please sign-up here.

Wednesday 28th September

  • 13:00 – 17:00 Afternoon social activity
    There will be three group hikes of different levels of difficulty.
    More information and sign-up can be found here.

Thursday 29th September

  • 09:00 – 11:00 Poster Judging- early career competition judging for sessions 2,4 and 5.
  • 12:20 – 14:00 Lunchtime talk: Opportunities to get involved in international networks
    Location: Summer Event Tent
    Meredith Hastings – Earth Science Women’s Network (ESWN) (10-15 mins)
    Fiona Tummon – YESS (Young – Earth System – Science) (10-15 mins)
    Craig Starger – Future Earth (10-15 mins)

Friday 30th September

  • 11:55 – 12:30 Closing Ceremonies- Awards for early career oral and poster presentations.

IGAC Early Career Travel Grants: IGAC is supporting 70 early career scientist from around the world to attend the conference.

Early Career Program Organizing Committee

Sarah Monks (Co-chair)

University of Colorado, Boulder, CO, USA

Steven Brey (Co-chair)

Colorado State University, Fort Collins, CO, USA

Fatimah Ahamad

Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia, Selangor, Malaysia

Julián Constantin

CNEA, Buenos Aires, Argentina

Kerneels Jaars

North-West University, South Africa


University Corporation for Atmospheric Research
National Center for Atmospheric Research

National Centre for Atmospheric Science, UK


Department of Energy National Science Foundation
National Aeronautics and Space Administration National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration ESA WMO GAW

(
Become a Sponsor